Call us: (913) 299-8789
Kansas and Missouri Gun Laws in 2022
Gun Laws in 2022

The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees the right to bear arms; however, individual states are allowed to regulate the sales and ownership of guns.  Kansas and Missouri gun laws in 2022 have remained largely unchanged; however, both have implemented modifications concerning concealed weapons and the ability to purchase guns in the past decade.  

This blog is not intended to be legal advice and is for informational purposes only. The information provided is only a glance and comparison of Kansas and Missouri Gun Laws in 2022. 

 GUN CONTROL LAWS                  KANSAS               MISSOURI
GUNS THAT ARE PROHIBITED*Shotguns with barrels less than 18 inches
*Automatic weapons
*Handgun cartridges with plastic-coated bullets, with cores of less than 60% lead by weight
*Silencers
*Spring gun traps
*Short-barreled rifles
*Machine guns
*Silencers
*Short-barreled shotguns
*Bullets of projectiles that explode upon impact
WAITING PERIODNoneNone
LICENSE REQUIREDKansas does not require a license to purchase a gun.Missouri does not require a license to purchase a gun.
PERSONS PROHIBITED FROM OWNING A GUN*Those addicted to, and unlawful users of, a controlled substance
*Mentally ill persons subject to involuntary commitment
*A person convicted of a felony specified under the criminal possession of a firearm by a convicted felon statute 
*A person not legally authorized to stay in the United States
*A person who is currently the subject of a domestic violence protective order
*A person who has been convicted of a domestic violence misdemeanor offense in the past five years
*Has been convicted of a felony
*Is a fugitive from justice
*Is habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition
*Is currently adjudged mentally incompetent
OPEN CARRIED ALLOWEDOpen carry is allowed in KansasMissouri does not prohibit open carry.  A person can briefly display a firearm in a non-threatening manner if the person has a concealed carry permit
CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE REQUIREDNo, a concealed carry permit is not required; however, it is illegal to carry a firearm in multiple locations such as a school, government building, or jail.No, a concealed carry permit is not required; however, it is illegal to carry a firearm in multiple locations such as a school, government building, or jail
ELIGIBILITY FOR A CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE*Be 21 years or older
*Be a resident of the state
*Complete a weapons safety training course
*Not be prohibited from possessing a weapon under federal or Kansas law
*Be 19 years or older, or 18 and a member of the United States military
*Be a resident of the state or member of the military
*Is a citizen or permanent resident of the US
*Complete a weapons safety training course
*Not be prohibited from possessing a weapon under federal or Missouri law
*Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the military
MACHINE GUN LAWSIt is illegal to possess, sell, manufacture, or carry a firearm in Kansas unless it is compliant with federal lawMissouri prohibits possessing a machine gun if possessing it violates federal machine gun laws
PENALTIES FOR ILLEGAL FIREARM POSSESSION ON OR NEAR SCHOOL GROUNDSIllegal possession of a firearm on or near school grounds is a class B misdemeanor offense that can be punished by at most six months in jail and a $1,000 fineIllegal possession of a firearm on school property is a class A misdemeanor if the firearm is unloaded and a class E felony if the firearm is loaded.
*Class A misdemeanor: Up to 1-year imprisonment and up to a $2,000 fine
*Class E felony: Up to 4 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine

Source: Chart adapted from findlaw.com

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching, (findlaw.com).

If you have questions about Kansas and Missouri Gun Laws in 2022 or have been charged with a gun crime, contact the Law Offices of Reginald Keith Davis for your free consultation @ (913) 299-8789. 

Licensed in Kansas and Missouri. ** Se Habla EspaƱol

About the Author

Reginald Davis
Reginald Davis
author

Reginald Davis is a licensed lawyer in Kansas & Missouri.

No Comments

Give a Reply

Our Offices :