Call us: (913) 299-8789
What to do if You Have Been Hit by a Drunk Driver
Been Hit By A Drunk Driver?

 

No one plans to be in an automobile accident, especially one that leaves you or a loved one with life-changing injuries.  What to do if you have been hit by a drunk driver is not an easy question to answer.  Your best advice would be to seek consultation from an experienced personal injury lawyer as quickly as possible to expedite your case.

What to do if you have been hit by a drunk driver starts with being prepared to be in an accident. This may sound like an erroneous statement but all this means is that it is your responsibility to know your state’s insurance laws, rights, and responsibilities to operate a motor vehicle.

Missouri: Missouri law requires all drivers and vehicle owners maintain some type of liability insurance to cover any result from your actions and others.

  • $25,000 / $50,000 limit per person for bodily injury
  • $10,000 limit per accident for property
  • Uninsured /Underinsured Motorist Coverage of $25,000 / $50,000 limit per person for bodily injury 

 source: dor.mo.gov

Kansas:  Kanas law requires all drivers and vehicle owners maintain some type of liability insurance to cover any result from your actions and others.  Kansas has a “no-fault” insurance system which means that if you are involved in an accident, regardless of fault, your auto insurance pays for certain damages up to the state’s specified limit.  As a result, Kansas residents are required to purchase Personal Injury Protection Insurance.

  • $25,000 / $50,000 limit per person for bodily injury
  • $10,000 limit per accident for property
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage of $25,000/$50,000 limits per person for bodily injury
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $45,000 medical expenses / $900 work loss.
  • Optional: Comprehensive and Collision Coverage.

source: dor.ks.gov

What to do if you have been hit by a drunk driver:

  • Visit your primary care doctor or other treating medical doctor for any suspected injuries as soon as possible as waiting to seek treatment will make any injury seem less serious.  Request all documentation from treating medical doctor, test results, and treatment plan.
  • Request and obtain the police report from the accident.  It is pertinent to review and request correction of any errors if you were injured or the other driver was drunk and arrested.  All of these details are an important part of your personal injury case.  If there is no police report, request to file one.
  • Report the accident to your insurance company.  Often insurance companies require a report following an accident as soon as possible and full cooperation is necessary but it is important to remember that you are speaking to an insurance representative, not a friend.  Provide facts, documentation and inquire the different parts of your auto insurance including medical benefits and coverage following the accident.
  • Be socially responsible.
  • Do not speak to or agree to any settlement offer from the drunk driver’s insurance company prior to seeking consultation from an experienced personal injury attorney.

Unfortunately, recovering from a motor vehicle accident is not just about recovering from your injuries if someone else is at fault.  If you are the victim of a motor vehicle accident involving a drunk driver and need an experienced personal injury lawyer on your side, contact Reginald Keith Davis, Attorney at Law.

 

About the Author

Reginald Davis
Reginald Davis
author

Reginald Davis is a licensed lawyer in Kansas & Missouri.

No Comments

Give a Reply

Our Offices :