A personal injury is defined as a physical or mental injury to an individual from the result of the negligence of a 3rd party. A personal injury can be complicated and can range from sustaining a physical injury from slipping and falling in your grocer’s produce aisle to a bodily injury as a result of a car accident.
How much time you have to file a personal injury claim varies with each state’s statute of limitations but the end result is the same if you file outside of this deadline; you forfeit your right to file a lawsuit, regardless of the type of injury or outcome. A state’s discovery rule grant’s the victim extra time by beginning the statute of limitations time period at the point the injury should have legitimately been discovered or diagnosed.
- Missouri: statute of limitations for medical malpractice is 2 years.
- Negligence/personal injury is 5 years.
- Discovery rule aligns with medical malpractice, 2 years.
- Kansas: statute of limitations for medical malpractice is 2 years.
- Negligence/personal injury is 2 years.
- Discovery rule is no more than 10 years from the occurrence of the injury.
If you or a loved one has been injured, it is best to seek an experienced and dependable personal injury lawyer to help navigate your personal injury claim. Legal representation will assure the working knowledge and experience necessary for a successful personal injury claim.
Please contact the Law Offices of Reginald Keith Davis to schedule your free personal injury case evaluation.